Federal & State RFRA Map

Filter by Type:
Map Key:
  • State Included in federal RFRA
  • State Not included in federal RFRA

Federal RFRA

The federal RFRA applies to the federal government, the District of Columbia, and federal territories.

State RFRA

28 states have RFRA

Strict Scrutiny

28 states have a RFRA + 10 states have RFRA-like protections in their state constitutions = 36 states with RFRA or RFRA-like protections (that require strict scrutiny).

Federal RLUIPA

All 50 states are covered under the federal RLUIPA (in the land use and prison context).